Amy’s Running Story

I have been running for a little over two years now. I truly never thought I would call myself a runner, but now, here I am, blogging about it.

It all started with my college roommate, who remains one of my very best friends. When we met, she was on the cross country team. She eventually went on to start the first running club on our campus. Although I didn’t run, she asked me to be the “pr chair” of the club, which basically meant I put together the newsletter.

Running always intimidated me, but I admired runners from a distance. One day, several years after graduating college, I decided I should give it a shot. I looked up the Couch to 5k program. For me, it worked like a charm. In the past, I had a tendency to bite off more than I could chew when it came to running. This program really gave me the opportunity to build confidence gradually.

I took my time, and, six months later, I was ready to run my first 5k.

20120705-221545.jpg

For me, this was one of my most exciting accomplishments. I was at a point in my life at which I needed a confidence boost, and this definitely did it for me. I was hooked.

In the 6 months that followed, I ran several more 5ks and had a great time.

20120705-221733.jpg

Soon enough, I decided to take this relationship to the next level. I signed up for a half marathon.

I never expected to do this. But I did. And it was awesome.

20120705-221918.jpg

Now, running is a huge part of my life.

I have run…

Five 5k’s.

20120705-222056.jpg

Two half marathons.

20120705-222126.jpg

In Central Park.

20120705-222156.jpg

With family.

20120705-222240.jpg

With friends.

20120705-222328.jpg

And lots in between! I am looking forward to all the adventures running still has in store for me…including…a marathon?

So, runners…when you look back, how did running start for you?

One thought on “Amy’s Running Story

  1. Pingback: Taking Running to a Whole New Level of Awesome |

Leave a Reply

