What Made the St. Jude Run So Awesome

Ok…so I have posted multiple times about the St. Jude run in the past week. This post will be the last one, and then I’ll move on to other things, haha.

As you can tell if you’ve read our previous posts (found here and here), we had an amazing time at the St. Jude Peoria Run last weekend. We’ve given you a recap, but I wanted to take a moment to explain why it was such an awesome experience.

1. The people were awesome.
I will admit that I get nervous in situations where I don’t know people well. My friend Amanda was going to have to leave early, which made me nervous. However, I quickly discovered in the morning that there was nothing for me to worry about. St. Jude runners and volunteers are some of the nicest people I have met. One of my strongest memories from the day is when I was struggling a little on my last leg. The group noticed and all held up a little to help me out. It made me feel like a member of the team, not a slow-sky. 🙂

2. The heat doesn’t matter.
In most cases, I hate running in the heat. Typically, though, I will do it anyway. On this day, however, the heat did not matter to me. In fact, I barely noticed it! Yeah, I was hot and sweaty, but the cool stuff of the day made it feel…well, not cool, but not as hot.

20120730-205348.jpg

3. It gave me an opportunity to run with a bunch of people and not have to worry about beating them.
Races are super fun, but one of my favorite things about them is being among a big community of runners. This run gave me that without having to worry about splits or time.

4. Motorcyclists are cool.
Typically on the road, people will wave or honk. We spent some time next to a breast cancer motorcycle charity ride, and it was so cool to see nearly all of them wave as we supported each other.

5. It reminded me to appreciate all the great things I have.
Running all day to help sick children will really make all of your problems seem small. I am a lucky girl.

20120730-205802.jpg

6. Last, but not least, it was a reminder of how much good there is in the world.
In this day and age, it is easy to get bogged down in the horrible things that can happen that we always see in the news. This day was a true testament of how many good people there are in the world who are willing to sacrifice their time and money to help others. Very, very cool.

Pick one of the six above and tell us a story of how you have learned it.

Leave a Reply

